CNG Month Member Highlight: SWACO

Solid Waste Authority of Central Ohio (SWACO) is one of 52 single and multi-county solid waste management districts established under Ohio’s solid waste management program. The primary goal of the State’s solid waste management program is reducing reliance on landfills for solid waste disposal in Ohio. SWACO is a political subdivision of the State of Ohio and is responsible for preparing, updating, and implementing a comprehensive solid waste management plan for the Franklin County Solid Waste Management District.

SWACO’s operates a sanitary landfill that is equipped with a maximum capacity of 8,000 tons and two solid waste transfer stations with a combined capacity of approximately 3,000 tons per day. Additionally, SWACO provides recycling programs, yard waste composting services, public education programs, and various activities to reduce the generation and disposal of solid waste within SWACO’s jurisdiction. SWACO is working to transition its fleet of 40 units from diesel to compressed natural gas (CNG) for hauling refuse from two transfer stations to the Franklin County Sanity Landfill. SWACO has been designated an Ohio Green Fleet by Clean Fuels Ohio.